Don’t Get Muted
If your social content is less than engaging, you could be in danger of being muted on Twitter.
The social network has officially launched the “mute” feature, which essentially enables users to remove someone else’s content from their newsfeed.
“Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user,” the Twitter blog states. “The muted user will still be able to fave, reply to, and retweet your Tweets; you just won’t see any of that activity in your timeline.”
It is important to note that muted users will not know that they have been muted. In order to leverage the feature, users can either tap “more” on one of the person’s tweets and then select “mute @username,” or they can visit the person’s profile page and choose “mute @username” under the gear icon. Twitter also notes that the feature should be available to everyone “in the coming weeks.”